The Film MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING Opens in Austin Friday, June 21st

poster from Gaylorsmith

Shakespeare’s classic comedy, Much Ado About Nothing, has been adapted and directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel’s THE AVENGERS, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog). When I first heard about this film adaptation, I was a bit skeptical as to how entertaining it might be. I was a bit concerned it might put me to sleep when the dialogue gets to be boring for me. Oh my, to my delight I was very wrong. I had one opinion of anything Shakespeare before last March at the SXSW Film Festival when I viewed this feature film and now I find it to be very amusing, much more so with the dynamite cast that participated in Whedon’s venture. The aspect I found amazing after viewing the black and white film was that it was shot in 12 days entirely on location by Jay Hunter (Paper Heart, Dollhouse), in one beautiful, spacious home in Santa Monica.

I really enjoyed the film in black and white and the actor’s performances with this Shakespearean text, especially when some of these cast members are well known for their comedic abilities. It is a very pleasant surprise to see how humorous this Shakespeare classic can really be.

Among the film stars, many who have worked with Whedon or with each other on other projects, and they are either a veteran of Shakespearean theater or totally new to the form and willing to try something new. The leads are Amy Acker (Cabin In The Woods, Alias) and Alexis Denisof (How I Met Your Mother, Angel) as Beatrice and Benedick, who seem to despise each other, yet have a history together that they can’t get past and struggle with love. The supporting cast includes Nathan Fillion (Castle, Waitress) as Dogberry, Clark Gregg (Avengers, Iron Man) as Leonato, Fran Kranz (Cabin In The Woods, Dollhouse) as Claudio and Reed Diamond (Franklin & Bash, Moneyball) as Don Pedro.

Whedon stated “The text is to me a deconstruction of the idea of love, which is ironic, since the entire production is a love letter to the text, to the cast, even to the house it’s shot in.” (Source: Roadside Attractions)

MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING is opening this Friday, June 21st at the Arbor Cinemas at Great Hills, Alamo Slaughter Lane 8, and the Violet Crown Cinemas. Running Time: 106 Minutes and for more information, visit https://www.facebook.com/MuchAdoMovie

Liz Lopez

Rating B+

Leave a Reply

