Man of Steel Opens in Theaters June 14th

Man of Steel poster

Superman, Superman, Superman. I grew up watching this character on television, as many other people did; others grew up on the comic book and television show, so it is very much a part of our childhood memories. For those of us who have different experiences with this hero to mankind, or did not get/remember the full story as to how Superman arrived here, Man of Steel is the film to see this weekend as it opens in theaters today. I know I am highly satisfied with a film when even after spending two and a half hours in the theater viewing it, I am ready to see it again. Overall, I do like the screenplay by David S. Goyer, from his and Christopher Nolan’s story based on Superman characters created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster published by DC Entertainment. There are a couple of lines that Laurence Fishburne has as the head of The Daily Planet, so I do not know if it is the writing or, that character is a bit slow, especially when he is slow to decide to evacuate a building. Otherwise, it is well done as it covers Superman’s history with his own birth and adoptive parents.

Michael Shannon_still

Michael Shannon, oh how I want to dislike his character (General Zod) in the film, but I can’t, because he excels at being an extremely bad individal who brings harm to Superman and we humans on Planet Earth. Every time I see Shannon’s work in each film, I grow to enjoy each performance and look forward to his next film. I even want to go back and view the past films that he is involved in and pay closer attention to the characters he has played that led up to his great performance in Take Shelter (2011) and in the last couple of years.

I am extremely impressed by the vast array of talented cast members in this production, starting with the handsome and talented Henry Cavill who portrays Kal-El/Clark Kent; Amy Adams, who is great as Lois Lane, Kevin Costner and Diane Lane, who portray Clark’s parents on Earth, as well as Russell Crowe, Laurence Fishburne, Antje Traue, Ayelet Zurer, Christopher Meloni, Michael Kelly, Harry Lennix and Richard Schiff, among the extensive list of actors.

This action adventure film is directed by Zack Snyder and he has done an excellent job bringing this fantastic story to life for those of us who know him from our past, as well as for the newer generations.

This film is rated PG-13 for intense sequences of sci-fi violence, action, destruction, and for some language. This is the one critique that I have; I reached a point in the film towards the end fight scene where I think it is too much/too long. I figure it is so intense, I want it to be over, but it seemed a bit long at that point. I understand that each character has extraordinary powers, but it seemed a bit much.

We humans are very lucky that Cal-El decides to save the world from another who thinks we are nothing. YouTube Link: http://youtu.be/T6DJcgm3wNY

I viewed it in 3D, but ready to go view it in IMAX, as it is spectacular to watch. Enjoy it in any form you chose, including 2D, but it is a must see film. Did I mention how great Henry looks?

Liz Lopez

Rating A-

Source: Warner Bros

###

Leave a comment