The Austin Film Society (AFS) announced the recipients of its 2012 Texas Filmmakers’ Production Fund (TFPF), which this year awarded cash grants totalling $89,500 to 16 projects by emerging Texas filmmakers. In addition to cash grants, AFS gave away $10,000 in goods and services from MPS Camera Austin, $6,000 worth of Kodak film stock, and $5,000 in post-production services from Seattle-based Alpha Cine Labs.

AFS’s Texas Filmmakers’ Travel Grant program disbursed another $10,500 in travel stipends to 15 Texas filmmakers traveling to prestigious national and international festivals, bringing AFS’s total grant amount to $121,000 for the 2011-2012 fiscal year. AFS has now given out over $1.3 million in cash to 344 film and video projects since the program began in 1996.

Funds for the grants are raised through the annual Texas Film Hall of Fame and fundraisers like BERNIE, KILLER JOE and the EL MARIACHI 20th Anniversary. Filmmakers receiving the grants have completed films that go on to  festivals and receive international recognition.

Recent past grant recipients include Heather Courtney’s Independent Spirit Award winner and Emmy-nominated WHERE SOLDIERS COME FROM, and Kyle Henry’s FOURPLAY: TAMPA, which was showcased at festivals around the world including Cannes’ Director’s Fortnight.

The Texas Filmmaker’s Production Fund continues to support emerging new
voices in independent film. This year, nine of the sixteen projects selected are
receiving TFPF funding for the first time. The largest single grant this year
went to Jacob Hamilton’s UNTITLED JUMP SHOT PROJECT, which
received $15,000 in cash for production. Hamilton’s project is about 91-year old Kenny Sailors, the former NBA basketball player and inventor of the modern jump shot. This is the filmmaker’s first time receiving a TFPF grant.

Another documentary receiving a large grant is Nancy Schiesari’s CANINE
, which explores the relationship between working military dogs
and their human handlers. On the narrative side, Andrew Irvine received $5,000 towards his first feature, STAY WITH ME, a comedy about a weekend getaway gone awry in rural Texas.

The final grant decisions were made by a panel of three acclaimed filmmakers from outside of Texas–Matthew Akers, director of the celebrated feature documentary MARINA ABRAMOVIC: THE ARTIST IS PRESENT; Brent Hoff, filmmaker and curator of short film DVD magazine Wholphin, and Paola Mendoza, director of award-winning narrative feature ENTRE NOS.

AFS Associate Artistic Director Holly Herrick administered the 2012 TFPF along with Austin Culp, serving as Interim Artist Services Manager.

For the complete list, visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: